If Only I Could Be A Vegan

20 Jan
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Image courtesy of Goat Girl

I’ve thought about going vegan before, so when I watched Vegucated the other day I was really inspired. I told my boyfriend, who just groaned, and promptly started eating only fruits, veggies, grains, nuts and seeds. I was expecting to feel lighter and cleaner immediately, but it had the opposite effect and I was reminded of why being a vegetarian doesn’t work for me.

As much as I’d like to save all the little farm animals from the tortures of commercial farming, I need to eat meat. So, I’m doing the next best thing…making conscious choices about the meat I buy.

chickens

Image courtesy of Patrizio Martorana

Since I got laid off in November, I can’t afford to buy 100% grass feed, free range all the time, but I have started shopping at a local grocer who sells locally raised beef and poultry from Painted Hills, Draper Valley Farms and Willamette Egg Farms. I’ve looked them all up and, while they may not be perfect, I feel pretty confident that they care about the animals and the quality of their products. Plus, they provide levels of products so I can upgrade as I become gainfully employed again.

Leave a comment